Vertical Horizon and Live’s Ed Kowalczyk in Manila

Was surprised to hear these rock alternative artists were headed to Manila for a concert. I was kinda worried, though, since I don’t they are that popular now compared to the ’90s.

Cr philippineconcerts.com

I knew I wanted to watch the concert, but I wasn’t sure if I could get my sister to watch it with me. (If my old friend Raymond Rueda was here, it would have been a no-brainer decision and we might have gotten Lower Box tickets and watched together LOL). Anyway, at the last minute, the morning before the concert, I got us General Admission tickets. My sister is only familiar with Vertical Horizon from their album that I usually play in the car.ย  And I only have 1 album of each.

Vertical Horizon’s Everything You Want

Li've's Throwing Copper

Since we only had Gen Admission tickets, we lined up early so we could choose a better location in the middle. At around 8:00 PM, there were still a lot of empty seats in all sections. Only, the Gen Ad sections seemed to be filling up quickly.

The concert started at 8:30 PM with Vertical Horizon in the first set.

(I think I saw Steve Fekete in the poster, but I did not see him on stage. Yeah, I know him because he played for David Archuleta for David’s AOL Sessions and Jingle Ball appearances in 2008). I really enjoyed Vertical Horizon’s set. They sang a lot of familiar music from Everything You Want – You’re A God, Everything You Want, Best I Ever Had, Send It Up, Miracle. They also introduced some new songs from their new record (I forgot the title). He also sang a song called The Lucky One, but there was no mention if it was at all related to the movie of the same title (which I did not watch, and have no plans of watching). The lead singer, Matt Scannell, said that he hated himself for writing that song because its not his usual type of music and theme LOL. Matt charmed the crowd with some of the Tagalog words he learned (‘Magandang gabi po!’ ‘Maraming salamat po!’ ‘Gusto niyo ba kaming bumalik?’) and some Filipino food they’ve tried (pork and chicken adobe…which he later corrected to adobo). The crowd sang along to many of the songs. I almost lost my voice towards the end of their set for so much singing and screaming. I didn’t plan on taking videos so I did not bring a camera. In the end, I decided to record portions of 2 songs:

Live’s Ed Kowalczyk played on the second set. They opened their set with a rockin’ version of All Over You. The crowd came alive, many stood up dancing and singing to the song. He sang a lot of new songs from his solo album which were not familiar to me.ย  But I am glad that Ed still sang a few songs from Live such as Selling the Drama, White Discussion, I Alone and Shit Towne. When Ed came out for the Encore, it is a given that he will sing Lightning Crashes. It was already the third song for the encore but still no Lightning Crashes. I started to feel some disappointment. I was surprised to hear a fourth song and, yes, it was Lightning Crashes. The bad part was, my iphone ran out of battery. I used my blackberry to record it, but it also ran out after the first chorus. It was okay, though, since I was able to concentrate on enjoying the song. It was awesome!

I feel bad that not a lot of people came out to watch them. There was a lot of open spaces, especially in the lower sections. I hope Ovation Productions made a call to get the people to move to the lower sections so the artists as well as the crowd could enjoy. I felt bad for the artists seeing so many open spaces in the arena. Maybe, next time, for artists not as well known as the contemporary artists, they’ll use smaller venues such as Ultra. There was probably only 5,000 – 6,000 in the audience last night.

One response to “Vertical Horizon and Live’s Ed Kowalczyk in Manila

  1. I feel bad that not a lot of people came out to watch them. There was a lot of open spaces, especially in the lower sections. I hope Ovation Productions made a call to get the people to move to the lower sections so the artists as well as the crowd could enjoy. I felt bad for the artists seeing so many open spaces in the arena. Maybe, next time, for artists not as well known as the contemporary artists, theyโ€™ll use smaller venues such as Ultra. There was probably only 5,000 โ€“ 6,000 in the audience last night.—-My thoughts exactly. I was waiting for Ovation to ask us to move to lower box at least. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

