Daily Archives: April 9, 2012

Blog Mentions – MTC and Mission

Read these from various fansites. There has been so much drama on whether or not these blog mentions must be shared. I’ll let you make the call on whether you read them or not (A lot of the blog entries are actually enlightening about LDS and the life of missionaries and soon-to-be missionaries).

3/29/2012 from here

The other big news this week is that David Archuletta reported to the MTC yesterday, and there has been a lot of talk going around about him.  His classroom is in the same building as mine and on the same floor and I have seen him a lot but I haven’t talked to him because every single person knows who he is and wants to talk to him so i don’t want to be like everyone else.  Everyone is obsessed with him tries to talk to him during his classes and during meals.  I feel bad for him.  He already knows Spanish and is going to Santiago Chile after 3 weeks so he won’t be here for too long.  I hope he can avoid the hype and focus on his mission.  It is kind of cool to be here at the same time as someone famous though and just randomly walk by him and recognize his face.

3/29/2012 from here:

8: Finally last one, David Archuleta entered the MTC Yesterday, and I’ll try to get a Picture with him, But It wont be an easy task since all the sister missionaries are always around him and everywhere he goes, there is a crowd by him he is getting asked questions. I can tell he doesn’t like the attention because he wanted to have a normal mission, but hey, what did he expect, I mean, he is famous. but I’ll try to get one with him before I leave on Monday.

3/30/2012 from here:

On another note, I know a lot of people are asking about Elder Archuleta. Yes, he did come to the MTC on Wednesday. I have seen him around quite a bit and his lives in the same building as Elder Lewis I think. I haven’t gone and said hi to him because I understand that he is here to serve the Lord and that would get really annoying having to sign autographs and take pictures. He walked on to the MTC choir going to General Conference too. So he will be singing with us tomorrow you can keep an eye out for him. Actually during one of our practices, the MTC president said that everyone needs to leave him alone and allow him to live his own life. There are always girls snickering about him though.

3/30/2012 from here:

So, yeah. David whats-his-head is here. He showed up last wednesday. We saw him sitting at the table across from us at lunch that day; he’s so tiny. I didn’t talk to him; to be honest, I was sorta hoping he wouldn’t be here while I was here, because the MTC was already buzzing about him within an hour or so of us seeing him. Also, HE got into the MTC choir on thursday. WHAT the what. So yeah, the word is out. I dunno if i’ll talk to him; I know if I was him, I’d definitely want to keep things on the DL and try to have as much of a normal MTC-experience as possible. Oh, and rumor has it that his comp doubles as his bodyguard. What? haha.

3/30/2012 from FB link:

Here are some excerpts from Elder Silva’s 7th letter. It was a good one so I had a hard time cutting out too much – Hey ya’ll! I’m practicing my Texas accent since I am going to be leaving in about 2 and a half weeks. Crazy huh. ….We have been practicing for General Conference every day. It’s been insane but it will be worth it cause it is going to be awesome! We sing in the afternoon session so if there is anybody that doesn’t know make sure you tell them!! …So the MTC turned into Hogwarts this week. David Archuletta got here and he was pretty much like Harry Potter and everyone was being dumb and looking at him weird! I felt bad and when I went to set up an appointment to get my haircut this morning he was in there getting his haircut. I can be proud to say I just treated him like every other missionary and human being for that matter…..I have never been so excited for Conference then for this one.

3/30/2012 from here:

Wednesday:…………this day was probably the worst day……..David Archuletta came to the mtc. that’s all everyone talked about. so annoying!!!!!! now when people ask me “hey where you going?” and i tell them they are like “oh cool your going to David archulettas mission??” UGH no its not his mission! i got called first! ugh hahaha i was so bugged and same with the rest of my district! so that was that…………..

3/30/2012 from here:

Alright now time to address the ELDER Archuleta issue. Yes, he came in on Tuesday and he is going to Chile. Yes I have seen him, yes I have talked with him, and yes I will get a picture with him just for you guys. Just yesterday he was in the salad line with me and so I talked with him for about 5 minutes, he’s pretty awesome, but he said that he hates having everyone know who he is. I wasn’t like AWE-stricken when I saw him, but he is way cool! Usually he sits by us at lunch so it’s an interesting experience. I have a lot of respect for him to leave behind what he did to serve. He’s a great guy!

3/31/2012 from here:

it’s official. david archuleta is here. same day as petah. so crazy. can’t believe it. and i’ve been very very close to him like 3 or 4 times and remained very calm and collected. he is tiny. he is beautiful. and he’s in the mtc choir, which is making many ppl pretty uptight, since lots and lotsa ppl wanted to be in it and didn’t make it for one reason or another. all we did was fill out papers that listed our experience. not too fancy. but those poor ppl will have to deal bc i highly doubt elder archuleta got down on his knees on his first whirlwind of a day here and begged to be in the choir. let’s be logical. “oh, i’m not famous enough and i’d like my mission to be an extension of my career, so may i PLEEEEASE be on tv!?!?!” yeah. not happening. but for whatever reason, he was there dark and early the very next morning at rehearsal. wowsa. and sis. w was telling me how ridiculous it is that ppl can’t seem to let it go. she said at breakfast yesterday, ” there are worse things than having a really good singer in the mtc choir for general conference.” and i said, “amen.” and that was even coming from a not-on-the-david-archuleta-bandwagon sister wight. so there. they can all suck a toe, right? well, i’ll be nicer. but it’s still in the “i don’t have control over it” category, so i guess it is, like many circumstances i will face on my mission, not worth complaining about. and HECK! i wouldn’t complain anyway! i get to see someone whom i’ve been dreaming of singing with for about a couple years now almost every day! SWEET! even though we do no more than possibly smile at each other in passing… if that’s happened, yet. he’s very private, i believe. and doesn’t seem to want any attention.

3/31/2012 from here:

So to answer any questions about David Archuleta being in the
MTC its true, he is here! Kinda funny he came up to me and asked me for
directions to one of the buildings he had a class in and i didn’t know
it was him for a sec and then we talked for a quick sec. I could tell he
didn’t want to make himself too publicly known so the sister
missionaries could stay focused. haha but he’s a nice guy.

4/1/2012 from here:

And, yes I have seen Elder Archuletta a few times… but he doesn’t look too happy. I’m sure its stressful to be in his shoes, and I kinda feel bad. That’s one thing that teaching investigators has taught me is sympathy and definitely empathy.

4/2/2012 from here:

That is way cool about David Archuleta putting aside his large career to serve the Lord. I wonder if he will have problems with people in Chile, if some people that recognize him will only meet with him because he is famous. That would add a very difficult aspect to a mission that can already be difficult at times. However, how cool would it be to be comps with him. You would make friendships that would last forever. Crazy! I feel bad that he gets swarmed everywhere. He is a very good person to not let people distracting him from his food and date bother him or get frustrated.

4/2/2012 from here:

Thats really really funny that you mention David Archuleta because Elder Chichia my comp always says that i look like him (even though i know i dont) and so he was joking around again and said that he saw me in the choir that was singing because someone looked like David. I cant believe it was actually him! nuts! That would be so awesome! hes gonna come Piura Peru and im gonna train him haha. does he already know spanish then? I always thought he wasnt allowed to go on a mission because he would be a distraction but i guess that solves the problem, dont tell anyone where hes going and send him to a country where he isnt famous.

4/3/2012 from here:

So yes….David Archuleta IS at the MTC! And yes…I have seen him…like 4 times. The first time I saw him I totally acted like one of the teen freaks and freaked out when I saw him haha! I don’t think he saw me…so that’s good. But um, he’s so tiny! He’s shorter then ME! I think the third time I saw him he smiled at me though ;) hahahaha! But yeah, it’s cool to see him. My goal is to shake his hand before he leaves. He’s going to Chile and leaves for the MTC there in 3 weeks so…I got 2 more weeks to try!

4/3/2012 from here:

Oh yeah, I met a new elder yesterday by the name of Archuleta, I think his first name is David? Apparently he’s famous. I just think hes kind of standoffish and strange. Generally when you smile and wave people do it back but he acted like I had three heads or something. Whaaaaatever. He lives in the building across from us and learns in the same classroom so we see him alot.

4/3/2012 from here:

Also, you might have seen Elder David Archuleta singing up there as well. Yes he is here. I feel so bad for the guy. He was stormed on the first day and people don’t leave him alone. When he found out he was zoomed in on, he was so embarrassed. I’ve talked to him. He’s a really nice guy and a great missionary.

4/4/2012 from here:

Last week David Archuleta, runner up on American Idol, reported to the MTC to begin his missionary training. It was exciting to think that Elder Farris and David could possibly meet!

Apparently Elder Farris met David Archuleta THAT VERY DAY!!!! He shook his hand and welcomed him to the MTC. they are in the same zone, so they eat every meal together. They also have church meetings together on Sundays! Elder Farris said he is trying not to act like an obsessed fan, because a lot of the other missionaries are giving David the celebrity treatment instead of treating him normally. Elder Farris is trying to act cool around David, but he said he almost fainted the first time.

Of course, he didn’t tell me (Jacie, his girlfriend) any of this in his Thursday P-day email. He just said to check the mail for his letter, because I’d “really like it.” Very cryptic. I had a feeling it  would be about David, especially after seeing David sing at General Conference over the weekend. But then Monday finally rolled around and I got my letter, telling me all of the above information. Naturally, I freaked out!!

4/4/2012 from here:

As the choir gently neared the end of the beloved hymn “Praise to the Man” the camera focused on a familiar face singing with the choir. David Archuleta. A collective gasp arose from the viewing audience. At least in my house.  My guess is that had Moroni shown up at the Conference Center with his trumpet, some people would have asked, “Who’s the guy in the robe here to accompany David Archuleta?”

I like David Archuleta. Haven’t purchased any of his music, but I recognize that he is really talented. Yet I cringed when I saw him on the screen. My first thought was “that was a carefully orchestrated PR move. Glad they waited until the end.” I just hope everyone remembered which “man” we were “praising”.

Later that afternoon I was talking to my sons, as we drove to watch the priesthood session. Their response surprised me – they thought it was so cool! They were honestly excited. One of those sons will be entering the MTC while Elder Archuleta is still there.

I was still a little cynical, but didn’t share it – because I don’t judge anymore. (Effective 3/31/12)

While I was sitting in the darkened chapel watching the conference, I hit me hard:
A change of heart.
I looked back at some things that I have seen in my lifetime, and started to gain a strong appreciation for what I had seen earlier in the day.

Before President Uchtdorf’s talk, back when I was more judgmental, I probably would have said something like this:

“All of my life I have seen seekers of fame and fortune – mostly athletes – being lauded by church members for chasing fame and fortune – just because they are LDS. I don’t get it – never have. But everybody sure gets excited about it.  Many fans will say ‘but they do so much missionary work being in the public eye‘. Maybe, but where is the sacrifice?  They aren’t walking away from fame and fortune, they are embracing it, and then might leverage it to do good works. Isn’t that backwards? Besides, why are we so desperate to have LDS idols that we would settle for them?”

However, since President Uchtdorf set me straight on Saturday, I would never think or say anything like that anymore. Now I would just say, “Everyone has to make their own decisions, it isn’t for me to judge.”

But…is praise judgment? Can I pass positive judgment on another?  I hope so, because here it goes…

I am so impressed that this young man would be willing to humbly walk away from fame and fortune to do as the Lord has asked. He is willing to sacrifice to serve. The more I think about it, the more I love him for his example to my sons, and all the young men I have worked with in the church. The power of his example should not be under-estimated.

Yes, the directors of the broadcast did manage to smoothly squeeze him into the frame at the end of the song – and I DO have a problem with that.  Why?

Because I wish they had had him sing in General Conference.
I wish they had publicized it in advance. With TV commercials.
I wish they had asked him to speak in the priesthood session.
I wish he could have given a talk, explaining to my boys, and the boys of the church, why he chose to serve a mission.
This dad wants his sons to see what humble sacrifice can look like.

Color me impressed.
Thank you, Elder Archuleta, and Godspeed.

4/5/2012 from here:

Another exciting thing this week that many of you may or may not have heard about was that David Archuleta came into the MTC! I knew he was coming in last Wednesday so I was looking for him. I didn’t see him till the next morning in Choir. I figured he’d be singing with us, and I walked right past him. The following morning I saw him and his companion, said good morning and he said good morning back. I’ve seen him several times a day since. Mostly at meals. I’ve been told he is going to Chile, but I know for sure he’s going to some spanish speaking mission. I do feel bad for him though because a lot of people have been very intrusive. We just have to remember that he is here for the same reason we all are: to serve the Lord. I admire him for his choice to serve the Lord! If you watch the end of the last song we sang in conference, Praise to the Man, he is zoomed in on at the last shot, so you can see that he really is a missionary =]

4/8/2012 from here:

David Archuleta has class on our same floor. One of our elders, Elder Mena, always wants a picture with him and uses us as an excuse. Yesterday we were walking down the hall when he was coming out of his classroom, and Elder Mena asked if we could get a picture with him, pointing to us sisters as if we were the ones who wanted it. He said he was trying to refrain from pictures but asked us our names and where we were going. I asked him if he was in advanced Spanish and he said yes, but he shouldn’t be. He asked if I was, and I said yes, but I shouldn’t be (actually though I love being in advanced). He is so short! And he wears the tightest missionary pants, haha. During our gym time yesterday I creeped on him doing ab work for all 20 laps that I ran around the track (that’s only 2 miles though).

4/8/2012 from here:

And, as I’m sure you all know, Elder David Archuleta arrived at the MTC last Wednesday. People have been spreading that rumor every Wednesday for the past….1000 weeks I’ve been here, so I didn’t believe it at first. Then we started getting all of those talks – “Please leave famous missionaries alone.” “It is not appropriate to ask other missionaries for autographs.” Hmm…I wonder what that could mean?? So yes, I have seen Elder Archuleta. No, I have not talked to him…I do not aspire to be one of his sister missionary fan club that pesters him. Poor guy. He’s apparently a really amazing person though, so I salute him for deciding to serve a mission.

4/8/2012 from here:

Went to Conference. Brad got tickets! We tried to go in the fall but oh wait… we got there late and lost a ticket. haha but this session we finally made it and can i mention it was THE SAME SESSION THAT DAVID ARCHULETA SANG IN. OH MY GOSH. I really almost died. It was the best day of my whole life. After conference was over. I ran up to the front and just stared at him. He may or may not have winked at me. :D

4/9/2012 from here:

In the MTC choir I saw tons of friends from BYU and then we were surprised to see David Archuleta. When did he decide to serve a mission? He’s way famous here in the Philippines and the members were so excited. This was a busy week and I did get transferred.

4/10/2012 from here:

He has seen David Archuleta a few times and has even cleaned the bathrooms in the building David is staying in (all missionaries clean the common areas of their fellow missionaries, so for all we know, David Archuleta is cleaning Ty’s toilets as well. ;)

4/11/2012 from here:

For Brooke, Elder Archuleta and I resided on the same floor here for a few weeks! I see him quite often and have shaken his hand, but when I did shake his hand I said nothing and treated him just like every other Elder here, because there are always elders wanting pictures with him and bugging him all the time are pretty immature about the whole thing of him being here. I feel bad  for the guy, and didn’t want to add to the hipe. sorry brooke, no picktures, but you understand. :)

4/11/2012 from here:

I see Elder David Archuleta a lot but he won’t do pictures. Says that’s not what he is here for.  Guess that makes sense.

4/12/2012 from here:

So my mom got to have breakfast with Elder Archuleta yesterday at the MTC (Ok-truth is the backs of their chairs touched). Does this mean I am now only 3 degrees from Simon Cowell??

4/13/2012 from here:

He said knowing Elder Archuleta is one of the coolest experiences at the MTC. They see each other every morning, eat meals together, attend church services together on Sundays, and live about 5 feet away from each other. In fact, they sat together for the Sunday’s General Conference , and last week they went running together. That has to be so awesome!! And luckily for Elder Archuleta, he gets to hang out with Elder Farris.

At this point he is getting used to the MTC schedule and is ready to head to Chile! He will leave for the MTC on May 7th…less than one month from now! At that point his P-days will change and we will have to get on a new schedule of emailing. Plus, since Chile is farther away than Utah, mail will be a lot slower.

4/13/2012 from here:

A few weeks ago the General Presidency of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints held their biannual broadcast. It took place on the first Saturday and Sunday of April. Many asked if Elder Farris got to attend or even sang in the choir during Saturday’s portion. Sadly, he was stuck in a gym for all of it. He said he learned a lot from General Conference and had a good weekend, and that though he didn’t get to sing, he knew many in the choir. Including Elder Archuleta. Above is a quick picture of David Archuleta taken from the TV screen by a friend during David’s close-up on Saturday. On Sunday, he and Elder Farris sat next to each other in the crowded gym to watch the rest of Conference. Very cool!

4/13/2012 from here:

David Archuleta continues to distract us a little bit, but we’re mostly over him. He talked to me for a few minutes the other day about Guatemala. We see him all the time. I have been very humbled this week of being here, but I realized I’m not humble enough because I was NOT okay when he passed me on the track.

4/13/2012 from here:

I grinned, but before I could ask anything more another of the elders in their district came running over to talk to me. (Elders love talking to me. I think it has something to do with the fact that I’m a female who wears pants.) The missionary spoke in hushed tones, but his eyes were excited. “Did you know,” he asked, “that Elder Archuleta is here?!”

I stared at him blankly. “Who?”

Elder Archuleta!” He rolled his eyes. “You know, David Archuleta?”

“Oh yeah!” It was weird at first to hear him called ‘Elder.’ “He’s here? Here where? In the building?”

The missionary shook his head, “He’s here in the MTC. We saw him!” His companions nodded, looking excited too. The missionary continued with wide eyes, still speaking confidentially, “I saw him in the cafeteria this morning. He was drinking orange juice.”

“Really?” I asked. He’d given me a significant look and I didn’t really understand it.

“Yes!” The elder shook his head as if he couldn’t believe it. “He’s going to feel awful later. That MTC orange juice does bad things to your insides.”

“Ah.” I blinked, and involuntarily we all glanced toward the bathroom door across from us. On the wings of that awkward silence I left the elders to their contemplations.

4/13/2012 from here:

I had a closer encounter with David Archuletta for those who are interested. We were going to pick up the mail and on the way into the building we held the doors open for each other. Woo hoo! I held the door open for David Archuletta!

4/13/2012 from Mr Burger:

What is David Archuleta up to at Mormon Missionary Training Center? His elders & sisters tell all

Murray native and “American Idol” finalist David Archuleta began his journey to become a missionary for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints by entering Missionary Training Center in late March.

It was thought that once he went inside the doors of the secretive Provo institution, the 21-year-old would be out of the public eye for about two years, spending about 10 weeks at MTC and then the rest of his time in his assigned mission, reportedly in Chile.

But this is an age where social media breaks down ramparts and bulwarks, no matter how much Elder Archuleta desires his pious privacy. As a consequence, the public and his fans have been able to read about his experiences through blog posts written by fellow elders and sisters at MTC.

“I’ve been officially star struck,” wrote Sister Emily Lewis. “I just drooled over him when he was on “‘American Idol.’”

“David Archuleta entered the MTC yesterday, and I’ll try to get a picture with him,” wrote Elder Abel Hemenway, assigned to Paraguay. “But it won’t be an easy task since all the sister missionaries are always around him and everywhere he goes … I can tell he doesn’t like the attention because he wanted to have a normal mission, but hey, what did he expect, I mean, he is famous.”

“Last week as Wednesday approached, the rumors started flying that the great DA would be entering the MTC,” wrote Sister Elise Marquitta Leavitt. “When Wednesday came, I was literally sick to my stomach thinking that the ONLY ‘celebrity’ I have ever loved or cared about would be here!”

Although the websites where these letters are posted seem to be a personal website — with sites usually associated with Blogspot and Missionsite.net — in reality the websites are usually set up by families to let others know about how their missionary sons and daughters are faring.

“Missionaries are encouraged to write weekly to family often through e-mail,” said Scott Trotter, spokesman for the Church. “Generally, blogs documenting the experiences of missionaries are maintained by family members or friends from home. Often these blogs draw upon letters or photos sent by the missionary. The Church has no policy related to these blogs beyond general guidelines provided in the Church Handbook.”

The Church Handbook states: “Members are encouraged to be examples of their faith at all times and in all places, including on the Internet. If they use blogs, social networks, and other Internet technologies, they are encouraged to strengthen others and help them become aware of that which is useful, good, and praiseworthy. When appropriate, members are encouraged to mention the Church and to link to and share approved Church materials. When members use the Internet for purposes other than Church callings, they should understand that the message they give is personal. They should not give the impression that they represent or are sponsored by the Church.”

Trotter had no comment on Archuleta or his experiences as a missionary, except to say that The Church would not confirm that Archuleta would be serving his mission in Chile, and Trotter spoke only of general guidelines given to all missionaries.

As expected, the weekly letters posted do focus primarily on the Church, since Archuleta is not more popular than Jesus. Elder Dayne Joyner, assigned to Mexico, wrote on April 2 that he “recently become very interest[ed] in the history of some of the hymns.” Elder Anthony Kai Buckwalter, assigned to Taiwan, writes about “going to the temple so early in the morning” is something he loves. And Sister Natalie Sargeant, assigned to Chile, writes about General Conference in that the “Spirit was strong, our songs turned out great, we were only like 50 yds from President Monson and the apostles … really, amazing.”

But when arguably the biggest celebrity to ever enter the MTC takes classes and meals with 19-year-olds and 20-year-olds, it is hard not to write home about Archuleta.

Elder Tanner Browning, assigned to Moscow, on April 4, wrote: “For all of my girl cousins back home I can say yeah, that I have briefly talked to him haha.”

“I feel bad for him sometimes because people come up and talk to him alot and one guy asked for his autograph,” Joyner wrote.

Most of those who encountered him said that he was shy and humble, as well as being much shorter than they expected him to be. Some take Advanced Spanish with him, and others jog with him. Sister Hermana Goimarac wrote that Archuleta “wears the tightest missionary pants, haha.”

However, no matter how hard the Church might try, it appears as if the presence of Archuleta has affected the MTC in small ways. Sister Skyler Elizabeth Dunford wrote that the missionaries “started getting all of those talks — “Please leave famous missionaries alone.” “It is not appropriate to ask other missionaries for autographs.”

And one persistent scuttlebutt is that Archuleta got special treatment for being allowed to in the MTC choir early for General Conference. “I said there is a choir of 364 people to Gen Conf,” wrote Elder Ian Derik Sanderson on March 31. “I am not, however, included in them. I haven’t had enough singing experience. The choir now includes 365 people, Can you guess who the last one is? Yep, Elder David Archuleta. My [companion] is super pissed!”

Elder Jordan Olsen, assigned to Nagoya, Japan, also addressed the rumors of special treatment, and seemed unimpressed: “To be honest, I was sorta hoping he wouldn’t be here while I was here … Also, HE got into the MTC choir on thursday. WHAT the what. … Oh, and rumor has it that his [companion] doubles as his bodyguard. What? haha.”

Sister Kelsey Whitaker, assigned to Nauvoo, even seemed a bit irritated. “I was so caught up with the spirit, I didn’t even notice Elder Archuleta,” she wrote. “He’s a pretty big deal amongst the mormons. No one wants to hear what WE’RE doing, they just want to tell us what the latest is with David. Its a little out of control how many people are talking about him.”

But once elders and sisters move past rumors, they seem to all agree that Elder Archuleta is genuine and goes out of his way to be normal. “Just yesterday, he was in the salad line with me and so I talked with him for about 5 minutes,” wrote Elder Ryan Moffet. “He’s pretty awesome, but he said he hates having everyone know who he is. I wasn’t like AWE-stricken when I saw him, but he is way cool. Usually he sits by us at lunch so it’s an interesting experience … He’s a great guy.”

Sister Leavitt calls him her “love, the great Elder Archuleta,” and adds that “he is THEE most humble, shy, wonderful thing ever and so delightful, and it was basically the most blissful minutes of my life [talking to him]. Heavenly Father truly does smile down on His missionaries. ;)”

Elder Joseph Gibbons, assigned to Bangkok, wrote that Archuleta is “very nice, respectful, and humble. Also very short.”

4/15/2012 from here:

Big news here about seeing Elder Archuleta aka David Archuleta as a missionary in the choir at General Conference. It’s great to see people have their priorities set.

4/15/2012 from here:

This week was so amazing!!!!!! General Conference was so fun!!!! I went to the Saturday afternoon session and yes I  saw Elder David Archuleta!!!! it was funny! But I enjoyed it….although I was really tired and tried not to fall asleep :) … the talks were great.

4/15/2012 from here:

This one’s for Cheyenne:  I saw Elder Archuleta this week.  He’s  little and apparently very shy.  That’s about it.  Sorry to disappoint you.

4/16/2012 from here:

Just have to say, we had the most wonderful day at the Provo Missionary Training Center! So amazing! Finished it off sitting at the feet of M. Russell Ballard, an apostle of the Lord Jesus Christ, Quorem of the Twelve. Wonderful sacrament meeting earlier; attended a Branch with all the missionaries preparing to serve in the Phillipines. I sang the hymns in tagalog with everyone. Beautiful Relief Society with all the sister missionaries this morning. Janis Lindley spoke powerfully about teaching everyone about Jesus Christ. So motivating! “Our very own” Elder David Archiletta sang “The Spirit of God Like a Fire is Burning”. He is ready to go serve the Lord!
All of the missionaries are amazing & such an inspiration to me! 56,000 can’t be wrong! How blessed we are! Love to all! di

4/16/2012 from here:

Last night both of the speakers really good, and between them David Archulleta (Now technically “Elder”, but yeah, the popstar from American Idol), gave a really great vocal performance. He’s going to South America, and right after he finished Elder Ballard got up to give his talk and started with, “Elder Archulleta, that was a hard act to follow.” Elder Archuletta has been on campus for the last 3 weeks and I’ve seen him around every once in a while. He was even in the MTC Confrence Choir if you look hard enough. But as for all of the popularity I’ve seen so far here, it’s been through the roof: Elders Packer, Ballard, and Oaks, David Archuletta, some members of the seventy, a newscaster from Chicago, and some others.

4/17/2012 from here:

Then…David Archuleta sang “The Spirit of God.”
Usually don’t like his music…really liked that. It was amazing, and
really brought the Spirit of God into the the meeting (and yes, Carli
probably mentioned I did get to chat with Elder Archuleta last week).

4/17/2012 from here:

Then, the best part, Elder Ballard came and gave the Sunday Fireside talk!!!! It’s like, NEVER a general authority on Sunday’s so everyone was pumped! Then…DAVID ARCHULETA DID THE MUSICAL NUMBER! He sang the Spirit of God and oh my gosh…I’d be lying if I said I didn’t tear up at the end hahahahaha but only because he started to cry! It was so amazing. Really quickly, one thing that Elder Ballard said in his talk was something along the lines of, “The whole church should be grateful that mother Smith didn’t deny her son when he told her that he knew for himself that the Presberayian (sp?) church wasn’t true. How grateful we all ought to be that Joseph Senior didn’t deny his son but said ‘go do what the angel told you.'” His whole talk was based on his testimony of Joseph Smith and it was amazing! He is such a crack up too! He spoke right after Elder Archuleta sang and he said, “David Archuleta…you’re a hard act to follow!” He also said, “None of you are perfect. If you haven’t figured it out…well, figure it out.” Ha! So funny.

4/17/2012 from here:

Elder David Archuleta (who i see a lot, lives in my building) gave a powerful musical number (the spirit of God). He mixed it with Spanish because that is what he is learning. It was a really neat piece.

4/19/2012 from here:

After President Brown’s talk, some of you might be interested to hear that Elder Archuletta sang “The Spirit of God”, with the second verse being in Spanish.  It was really great, and very emotional for everyone, including Elder Archulleta, whose voice was cracking for the last lines.

4/19/2012 from here:

so i know mom’s wondering (no he’s not going to italy) david archuletta.. wait.. elder archuletta was in the mtc with me. he entered on the same day but he left to chile on monday. he sang in the devotional on sunday and man……. that kid is SO shy and SO timid but i am telling you… he is powerful. he sang The Spirit of God and i know the entire congragation felt the spirit. he sang the second verse in spanish which was really cool. monday morning i saw him walking and complimented him. ah yeah ;]

4/19/2012 from here:

They never made a special announcement about Elder Archuleta but they maybe should have… ha ha The first couple days he was getting mobbed by sister missionaries. I felt bad for him. But then it got better. He actually sang in our fireside on Sunday night! It was super good, and guess who the speaker was?! M. Russell Ballard! It was an awesome fireside! He spoke on the power of the spirit and teaching with it. It was great.

4/19/2012 from here:

4/20/2012 from here:

Not sure how many of you are David Archuleta fans, but I asked my Dad (who is his mission president) if I could share something about his arrival in Chile and this is what he had to say about him, “He is a very humble, non-ego person..Not centered on himself. He is just GOOD. That is the word for him. And he is very excited to be here and loves his trainer and has already taught some lessons in his first sector”. Pretty cool. Out of respect for Elder Archuleta I wouldn’t want to get more specific than that on his experiences. Just good to know he is doing something good and for the right reasons.

In Chile

7/8/2012 – From an unknown source

7/16/2012 – Pictures from various sources

7/18/2012 – This video came out today. From Chile. a8ujmq

7/24/2012

Glady’s who got to attend the Devotional in Santiago, Chile last July 15 posted her recap at The Voice. Read it here.

7/24/2012

From Janel Woodbury’s comment on FOD:

Janel aka Nellie says:
July 24, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Bruny informed me that she was unable to go to the devotional and she was heart sick about it. She told me though there will be two events coming up, the one in October and then David will be singing on the temple grounds in December. Most likely for Christmas. She is going to try hard to go to both.

 8/13/2012 - From here

I don’t hear much about David Archuleta, he is out in the boondocks. Apparently he isn’t very well known around here. I asked his companion if  we could take a picture, but apparently he hates cameras, kind of a problem when you’re famous.

8/20/2012 - From here

Speaking of David Archuleta, I met him today. I can´t promise pictures, seeing as he doesn´t like them. It was interesting to see him walk up. We were at the train station doing cambios, and he was there. We did the normal Chilean greeting for men, with a handshake, hug, and handshake. I asked him if he was already here, or changing. Cool and strange to be standing by a guy who is know by millions of people. But alas, no pictures. I heard he went to Santiago to get his Visa and Carnet, basically a Chilean ID card, and in the metro station, some girls attacked and tried to kiss him. LOL.

We had cambios today (changes). The president didn´t change me to another sector, so I am here in Recreo for another 6 weeks or more. Its good, I like this sector and I look forwards to the future here. We had a good last night with Elder Berlin. After being here for 3 changes, he is going to Machali, a little town next to Rancagua. He will be living in the same house as David Archuleta! I told him to give Archie a kiss from me XD. On that note, my new companion is Elder Torres, a Latino from El Salvador. He´s pretty bakan (cool) and I understand his Spanish really well. Now we are in a house with 3 Latinos and myself. I have been told countless times how good my Spanish will get, so we’ll see how it goes for this change.

8/26/2012

Shawna Tidwell (@stidwell53)
Posted Sunday 26th August 2012 from Twitbird Pro

talked to @DavidArchie’s mom and grandpa after church today and told them how much we love his new album(s) and how thankful we all are for his hard work and doing this for us…asked her how he was doing and she said “just so wonderful and happy”…should have gone to the missionaries house after the meeting to visit more with them…dang, buy I had to teach my 11 year old class:(

8/26/2012 – From here

El Centro JAS Rancagua le invita a una especial presentación musical, “UNA NOCHE CON ELDERES COELLO Y ARCHULETA” — el Sábado 13 de Octubre a las 19:00 (Las puertas se abrirán a las 18:00) en el centro de estaca en Rancagua, Av. Grecia #319, Rancagua. ESTA PRESENTACIÓN ES SOLAMENTE PARA LOS JOVENES ADULTOS SOLTEROS EN LA VALLE CACHAPOAL EN LA SEXTA REGIÓN DE CHILE ENTRE LAS EDADES DE 18-30.

Debido a asientos limitados, necesitan reservar un asiento a través del formulario que se encuentra abajo. Solamente los que tengan una reservación confirmada, serán admitidos. Recibirán un correo eléctronico confirmando su reserva. Una semana antes de la presentación, recibirán un segundo correo. NECESITAN RESPONDER A ESE CORREO Y CONFIRMAR QUE VAN A ASISTIR A ESTA PRESENTACION O SU ASIENTO SERA DADO A LOS DEMAS.

Loose translation

Rancagua JAS Center invites you to a special musical presentation, “A NIGHT WITH ELDERS COELLO AND ARCHULETA” — Saturday October 13 at 19:00 (Doors open at 18:00) at the stake center in Rancagua , Greece Av # 319, Rancagua. This presentation is only for single young adults, between 18-30 years old, from the Cachapoal Valley, 6th region of Chile.

Due to limited seating, you need to book a seat through the form provided below. Only those with a confirmed reservation will be admitted. You will receive an email confirming your booking. A week before the presentation, you will receive a second email. You need to respond to that email and confirm that you will attend this presentation or your booking will be given to others.